· 

Crazy cream

Someone asked me if I liked breastfeeding, she asked how I felt about it. I found it difficult to answer and it got me thinking. I felt obligated to say that it was wonderful and special but I couldn't really say that.

 

Don't get me wrong, I love those moments with my son and I think it is a wonderful thing but for me the word FUNNY suits better to describe our breastfeeding journey. I have to see the funny moments otherwise I might have quit weeks ago. For me, breastfeeding should be taken a little less serious. In Holland some women talk about the breastfeeding mafia, moms who believe so strongly that breast is best that other moms don't take them seriously anymore and start to resent them even. For some parents, formula just works better and that's fine.

 

Another reason that I use the word FUNNY is because breastfeeding brings me in situations I haven't been in before. It started at the hospital. Because of my C-section I didn't produce milk straight away. A nurse brought in this ridiculous huge pump. Luckily my mom is a midwife and she helped me that first week with pumping to get things going. Fortunatly my sun was a hungry fella, as well so he had no trouble helping as well. I mean, lying in a hospital bed with a machine attached to your breast while people come and go can be very strange, let's call it funny and not humiliating.

 

The pumping still is a part of my daily life and it causes many funny moments. For some reason I can't seem to detach myself without spilling milk everywhere.  there are little drops of milk on the floor like Hansel and Gretel left sweets in the woods. Before people come over I check the floor for any spots I missed. I mean , it's easier to laugh about it, otherwise I might cry.

 

When my milkflow started four days after the birth, my boobs thought they had some catching up to do. It resulted in a very strong spurt of milk that was difficult for my son to drink from. The doctors recommended the laid-back position in which he had to lay on top of me and drink against the gravity sort of. The first time we tried this my husband was around and he mentioned that Ike looked like a stranded whale. I couldn't stop laughing what made it even funnier because he bounced on my chest. 

 

Yes, funny is the word I would use. Of course sometimes it wasn't funny at all. When he was crying hysterically it wasn't funny at all, When he wanted to drink every hour it was no fun and games and I am not sure how much fun funny will be to be pumping when I go back to work. It is a journey with different feelings all along the way but I love it. I love his little hands against my breasts, I love how he looks when he is full and his cute (sometimes very loud) burp at the end. And of course the best thing is that my little boy is growing. It has to be cream that I am feeding him because he is becoming a lovely chubby boy. But I am also going to love it when it is time for his first ‘’real’’ meal.  Let’s see what word will describe that journey.

Reactie schrijven

Commentaren: 1
  • #1

    Kirsten (donderdag, 03 mei 2018 20:55)

    Super leuk om te lezen Do. Je moet je nooit verplicht voelen tot een bepaald antwoord, je bent wie je bent en hoe jij je voelt mag je gewoon vertellen en dat maakt je uniek (en ieder ander ook). Super tof dus dat je hier dat stuk over schrijft, iedereen beleeft het anders � topmama!